The Isle of Seil Golf Club was formed in 1995, as the result of a competition arranged and sponsored by The Isle of Seil Sports Club at Taynuilt Golf Course. The competition showed the enthusiasm of Seil folk for the game of golf and so it was decided that the island should have it's own course. One of the prime movers was Donald Campbell who had heard of the Winterton Course which existed on the island in 1910. Along with Isobelle Smith, who had inherited Winterton Farm, many afternoons were spent walking the farm to find the best place for a course. 

Land was found and a meeting was held in Easdale Hall at which a committee and office bearers were elected and the serious work of fund raising began. Isle of Seil Golf Club is managed and developed by members, and it only exists because of their dedication and enthusiastic hard work year after year.   In 2023, the land upon which the course lies was purchased by the club, opening up a new chapter in the club's history and giving greater possibilities for the development of the course.  

The Club logo was the result of an excercise for the children of Esdale Primary School. The design selected was based on the work of Catherine MacAskill of Balvicar Farm and it shows the 'Bridge over the Atlantic', the only bridge onto the island. 

We are a forward thinking club and select a Club Captain who is the best person for the job rather than because they belong to a specific gender.  We know it's unusual in golfing circles, but we like to think we're trend-setters. We are also signatories of the R & A Women in Golf charter.


Club Captains

1996  Bill Ellis 2006  George Hannah 2016   Isobelle Smith
1997  Bill Ellis 2007  John Taylor 2017  Mary Phillips
1998  Donald Campbell 2008  John Taylor 2018  Mary Phillips
1999  Donald Campbell 2009  Isobelle Smith 2019  John Morgan
2000  Jean Ainsley 2010  Isobelle Smith 2020  John Morgan
2001  Ian Galloway 2011  Gordon McKenzie 2021  Pat Mill
2002  Ian Galloway 2012  Gordon McKenzie 2022  Pat Mill
2003  David Nathan 2013  Colin Campbell 2023  George Hannah 
2004  David Nathan 2014  Colin Campbell 2024  George Hannah
2005  George Hannah 2015  Isobelle Smith    



Our Partners